Advanced Magic

These concepts are for players who wish to explore some more advanced options for the Magic skill. (We recommend you first have a decent understanding of Quest’s magic system before you try these.)

Cleric and Mage "kits"

These kits are not available at One-Shot games.

"Kits" are optional bundles of rules that someone with Mage or Cleric Magic may choose in order to give their character some powers that are particularly appropriate to the clergy of their deity, or to their magical specialization:

By choosing a kit, the spellcaster gains the bonuses listed, but must accept the limitations:

Cleric "kits"

Cleric kits are listed in the entries for the gods; the details of each god’s kit are listed under the entry for that god.

You can't "shed" a Cleric kit without good reason (such as renouncing one’s god, which is apt to get you in a whole other mess of trouble anyway).

Mage “kits” (specializations)

Pyromancer (Fire mage)

Hydromancer (Water mage)

Geomancer (Earth mage)

Aeromancer (Air)

Æthermancer (Æther mage)

Nihilimancer (Void mage)

Magic, Mystic (3 points per level)

Prerequisite: Mystic Initiation

A mystic is a different form of spell caster from a mage or cleric. You are guided by an internal, intuitive process rather than through rituals and memorization. You invoke your powers through unusual methods or even your own power.

Unlike mages or clerics, mystics do not have a large list of spells they can cast at each level. Instead, you have a fixed spell list, which you must choose. With each level, you add more spells to your spell book. Moreover, mystic spells are divided into paths to reflect your particular training and background; as such, you should have a thought-out character history for the mystic.

You may place three spells into your spell book per level of Mystic Magic. However, you may take a spell on a path only if you already have all the lower-level spells on that path. That is, you may not take the third-level spell on a particular path unless you already have the first-level and second-level spells of that path in your book.

You must have at least one path in which you have taken a number of spells equal to or greater than your level of Mystic Magic.

Notes about Mystic Magic

Customizing Mystic Paths

If one of the spell paths does not include a spell that is appropriate to your character concept, you may substitute it for one currently on the path lists. The spell must be placed in an appropriate list and cannot duplicate a spell in another list. The level of the spell on that path must be at least one level higher than the mage or cleric version of that spell. (So if you wish to add a fifth-level cleric spell, it must be placed at level six or above on a mystic path.) If no path seems appropriate for the spell, you must place it in the Path of the Mystic.